About Parish Councils


A parish council is a civil local authority found in England which  is the lowest tier of local government. The activities of a Parish Council fall into three main categories: representing the local community, delivering services to meet local needs, and improving quality of life and community well being. As it is the authority closest to the people, parish councils are invariably the first place people will go with concerns or ideas.  For this reason they are a vital part of any community. Parish councils are funded by levying a "precept" collected with the council tax paid by the residents of the parish. Parish councils have unpaid councillors who are elected to serve for four years, unless a casual vacancy arises which may be filled by a by-election or by co-option.

About Monks Kirby Parish Council

Monks Kirby Parish Council comprises 6 elected councillors and a Parish Clerk - see below. The Council meets monthly in the Village Hall on the third Thursday of the month. Meetings start at 7.30pm and generally last around 2 hours. All members of the Parish are welcome to attend and each meeting starts with a short public participation session to allow parishioners the opportunity to raise issues of concern/interest. The formal agenda for each meeting is published 4 days in advance of the meeting and is posted on this website and on the Parish Council notice board

Your Councillors
Tim Washington - Chair
Bill Woolliscroft -
vice Chair
Louise Partridge
John Dalby
Fran Payne
Jane Wright
Parish Clerk
Parish Clerk
Alexa Higgins

Parish Council 2018 Meeting Dates, Agendas and Minutes

January 18th     Minutes

February 15th   Minutes

March 15th   Minutes

April 19th   Minutes

May 10th (Parish Meeting)   Minutes

May 17th (AGM)   Minutes

May 17th (monthly meeting)   Minutes

June 21st    Minutes

July 19th   Minutes

August 16th Meeting Cancelled

September 20th Minutes 

October 18th  Minutes

November 15th  Minutes

December 20th Minutes.

January 2019 Minutes

February 2019 Minutes

March 2019 Minutes

April 2019 Minutes

May 2019 Parish Meeting Minutes

May 2019 Annual Meeting Minutes

May 2019 Minutes

June 2019 Minutes

July Minutes

August Minutes

September Minutes

October Minutes

November Minutes

December Minutes

January 2020 Minutes

February 2020 Minutes

March 2020 Draft Minutes

Parish Council Governance

To view documentation relating to governance of the Parish Council and previous meeting minutes, please click HERE

Monks Kirby Parish Boundary

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com